Tackle It Tuesday: Sewing a straight line

Sewing materials

I bet ya’ll thought I missed this week’s Tackle It Tuesday, huh? Nope. I’ve just been a busy little bee, sewing away at my tasks for the day. I started off this morning with this pile:

Sewing materials

A pile consisting of 5 yards red cotton twill, 6 yards white cotton, 4 yards of multi-colored striped cotton, and a half yard each of a multi-colored dotted cotton and a plain yellow cotton. Oh, and let’s not forget the 4 rolls of black and white coordinating ribbon.

The goal was to complete the following for the on-going redesign of my youngest children’s room:

  • red curtains with black ribbon
  • white fabric blinds with black ribbon
  • multi-colored striped bed skirts
  • two yellow pillows
  • two multi-colored dotted pillows

I swear it didn’t seem too ambitious when I started. In fact, a storm had knocked out our internet, so it appeared to be the perfect way to spend a web-free day.

HAH!

Somehow I forgot that I am by no means a professional seamstress. All I can say is that at 9:00 pm (eastern), I’ve just about finished the curtains. Just. About.

Yeah, that’s right. ONLY. THE. CURTAINS.

sigh.

One day I’ll learn how to make realistic goals.

Don’t forget to visit the Tackle It Tuesday page to see what everyone else is tackling:

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

4 thoughts on “Tackle It Tuesday: Sewing a straight line

  1. Heather says:

    Oh, I know the feeling! I expect a lot more from myself in a day than is probably humanly possible. lol I didn’t come close to finishing what I wanted to today. But do give yourself credit for what you did accomplish! Getting those curtains done was a real achievement. I can’t wait to see pics of the finished project!

  2. Aja says:

    We must be in sync today. My mom came over after I got off work to give me a quick tutorial on how to use my sewing machine(I don’t sew either but I am the hem tape queen). My goal was to hem 4 curtain panels and sew ribbon trim (black dots on white) on some hand towels. Well, it took me about 2 hours to do the towels, but that was after I did some practicing on scrap fabric. After I finished the towels I got so excited that I just went ahead and cleaned the guest bath and spruced it up for Spring!!!! I am soooo ready for Spring.

  3. Sandra Hamlett says:

    Hey at least you’re sewing. I’m still face my sewing machine with the kind of trepidation you would have entering the cage of a wild animal. I have lots of ideas. I’ve found gorgeous fabric. What stands between me and “A beautiful abode” is my fear of this mechanical device. Give me knitting needles and I’ll tackle the hardest pattern but the sewing machine… ahh!! Congratulations on your accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

