Craigslist Monday: What $20 will buy…

Happy Monday bargain hunters!

I received such a nice response to last week’s Craigslist Monday that I thought I’d try it again. This time I set my goal even lower, and decided to see what a $20 bill would buy. I’ll admit I figured it would end up being a couple of pillows… but in the end, I was pleasantly surprised at the deals I came across. Check ’em out:

$15 for the pair

Stainless Steel floor lamps

Honestly, I was in shock when I found these. It’s the PAIR for $15! If you don’t understand my excitement, then you need to look here and here to see comparable vintage style lamps retailing for over $150 each. If I could have found a good place to use them in my townhouse, they would definitely have come home with me. http://atlanta.craigslist.org/fur/612786300.html

$20 for the pair

pair of orange armchairs

Okay, I can see some of you wincing at these chairs. They aren’t my style either… BUT they have my favorite shade of orange AND they are only $20 for the pair. As I considered them, it occurred to me that with some fabric glue and some trim or cool fabric, you could really rock these out. I’m thinking something cool and funky, Anthropologie style… maybe applying some crewel work to the back like this or picking a large pattern fabric similar to this rug and applying a medallion in the center of each chair’s back. A little imagination and you could easily end up with a high design look for waay less than $40. http://atlanta.craigslist.org/fur/616847380.html

Elbow grease, paint, and $10

Cheap bookcase

Yes, this is a cheap laminate bookcase. Nothing special. But did you visit any of the links from Friday’s inspiration post? Specifically this link which transformed a plain old cheapie bookcase just like this $10 beauty into this:

BHG.com bookcase remodel

Cool, right? This is a project that’s actually on my “to do” list and just think how much fancy storage you could get for $20 (counting the $10 for the bookcase, $4 for spray paint, and another $6 for the plumbing pipes). http://atlanta.craigslist.org/fur/616361689.html

There were plenty of other $10-$20 finds, including shelving, side tables, coffee tables, and other lamps, but these were the ones that inspired me the most at first glance.

I realize that many of you that read my blog aren’t in the Atlanta area or even close… even though it makes me sad that you can’t get in on these good bargains, the main reason I keep up withCraigslist Monday is to encourage you to look at things with an open mind. I think that the more you fill yourself with inspiring images and project ideas, the easier it is for you to imagine new and unexpected ways to transform items that are within your budget into pieces that you can feel proud of. And THAT is the real secret to being a successful budget decorator!

Until tomorrow!

Shauntelle

6 thoughts on “Craigslist Monday: What $20 will buy…

  1. carissa says:

    Craigslist can be such a gem! The funny thing… I had just checked there right before clicking on your lovely blog! 🙂
    I just keep checking… those fun pieces do pop up!

  2. Jenn @ Frugal Upstate says:

    I like looking at what you find and (even more) your ideas of what to do with them! Even if I’m nowhere NEAR Atlanta.

    Also, just wanted to let you know that the link to the rug is broken and point back to the crewelwork chair.

  3. snhamlett says:

    Oops! Sorry about that link, but it’s all fixed Jenn! And thanks so much for stopping by… ya’ll encourage me to always keep my eyes open for great ideas to share!

    xxoo,

    Shauntelle

  4. coleen says:

    love craigslist. the person with the orange chairs must have seen your post ’cause he raised the price to $50 for the pair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

