Inspiration Friday: Carrie and Danielle’s interview AND a GIVEAWAY!

Hello my dear ones!

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned that I was working on an interview with two fabulously Carrie and Danielleinspirational women, Carrie and Danielle, who run a style consulting service. In a nutshell, they are authentic living therapists, using questions and empathy to help over 700 men and women (at last count) find their “style statement” – a two word compass which always leads to your personal North Star, so to speak. I’ve been fascinated by the idea ever since I first learned of it, and have had a personal consult with them on my wish list for over a year… but you know how budgets go! – and how my extra dollars are always earmarked toward a decorating project! : )

Which is why I was extremely excited to find out their book, Style Statement: Live by Your Own Design, was due to be released into stores this month. (It was released this week, in fact!) My original plan was to run out and buy a copy of the book and then do a review of it here, because you know how much I love sharing great things with ya’ll! Then I got the idea to do an interview and here we are! But it gets BETTER! Not only do I get to share the interview with you, I also get to host a GIVEAWAY! That’s right, Carrie and Danielle have graciously offered to give an autographed copy of their book to one of my lucky readers… too cool, right?

Ok, enough of my babbling– go enjoy the interview and then, check out the details about the giveaway afterwards…

******************

Carrie and Danielle, for my readers who may be *meeting* you for the first time today (smile), could you share a little bit of your backgrounds with us? How did you two meet? What inspired you to create your business?

Carrie: I am a former interior designer. I looked good from the outside: international media attention, great clients, abundance, nice car, cute boyfriend. And yet on the inside I felt like a fraud. My focus was all about the outer world and something was missing; I wanted to marry the inside with the outside. Style Statement was born from my commitment to making a difference in many people’s lives. Danielle was one of my guinea pigs. She received her Style Statement from me, and I received a business partnership from her based on our shared values, a do-whatever-it-takes commitment, and joy.

As a writer, I am a big believer in the power of words so, of course, the concept of your Style Statements resonated with me immediately. Do you find this to be the case with most of the general population? What do you say to the nay-sayers or the skeptics who question how two words could possible have a profound affect on a person’s life?

It has been an honour to share Style Statement with the world. 750 people have received their two words and this is what we hear: “I purged all the black from my wardrobe,” “I am going to yoga,” “I am letting go more,” “I bought orange ballet flats”, “I am more ME!” Two words carry majestic meaning when they declare who you are and what you yearn for.

Carrie, your Style Statement is Refined Treasure and Danielle, yours is Sacred Dramatic. Will you to us a little about the process of discovering your statements and how you both use your statements to create focus and direction in your lives?

Carrie: I use my magically infused words Refined Treasure all the time. Most of my decision-making begins like this: “Are these shoes Refined Treasure?” “Am I being a treasure in my marriage?” “Am I treasuring my body?” “Do I need to process this information more?” It’s a constant guide and mantra for making choices in all areas of my life. And I know when I am not living my Style Statement – when I rush, when I am not present…and I have the bruises to show for it.

Danielle: Sacred Dramatic, like most people’s Style Statements, is paradoxical. Sacred is introverted, reflective, respectful. Dramatic is outgoing, impactful, visible. It’s the 80/20 principle that’s profoundly helpful for me. 80% Sacred keeps me grounded, 20% Dramatic inspires me to be expressive about what’s important.

As you know, A Beautiful Abode is dedicated to providing inspiration for creating a beautiful home on a tight budget. Besides money, one of the biggest concerns many of my readers voice is not knowing WHERE to start with designing their homes. They look at magazines and become overwhelmed with the idea of pulling together a cohesive space that feels right to them. Can you give an example of how knowing your Style Statement has helped you make the correct choices for creating a comfortable, attractive living space?

Carrie: When people come into my home they feel a quiet elegance, a kinship with nature and space to breathe. They see treasures from my family, a cocktail dress hung on the wall, an Allessi vase, a painting from my niece. All of these elements are created based on my two words: 80% Refined and 20% Treasure. Without the definition of your Style Statement, it’s important continually asking yourself this question: “What inspires me?” It’s so simple and so powerful. If you bring that question forward in your daily life, you’ll start to see patterns in what truly floats your boat. A colour, a way of being, a style of sofa, the way someone speaks—pay attention to how these things make you feel. Up? Down? Heavy? Light? Inspired?

I’m very excited to tell everyone that your book, Style Statement: Live by Your Own Design, was released in stores just a few days ago (April 8th). Will you explain how readers will be able to use the book as a tool to discover their own style statements?

Living By Your Own Design

Style Statement: Live By Your Own Design is an inquiry into your authentic self. It’s a discover-it-yourself process for defining your own personal Style Statement. The questions are playful and profound, superficial and deep. You can see how others use their Style Statements in their lives, and the final part of the journey is an exericse in how your can really live authentically in every area of your life — from your living room to your relationships.

Finally, if you could share just one piece of advice with readers who are concerned with styling their homes in a way that authentically reflects them, what would it be?

Ask yourself these questions abut every aspect of your home: What do I love? What do I desire? How do I want to feel in my home?

*************************

If you want to learn more about Carrie and Danielle, please visit their website at CarrieandDanielle.com. While you’re there, be sure to sign up for their Friday Focus newsletter. It’s one of the few e-mail newsletters that I ALWAYS read every week and it never fails to provide me with inspiration. Their book, Style Statement: Live by Your Own Design, is available online right now at Amazon.com and I’m pretty sure you can pick one up at your local bookstore (which is on my to-do list for next week). As a wonderful A Beautiful Abode reader, you ALSO have the chance to win an autographed copy of the book

**Entering the giveaway** is pretty simple…

If you have a blog, write a post about “What inspires me?” and add a link to that post in the comments here. If you don’t have a blog, you can still enter, just leave a comment answering the question “what inspires me?” Add your comment by midnight (eastern time) Thursday, April 17th. I’ll announce the winner on next Friday’s Inspiration Friday post.

Good Luck! I can’t wait to see what inspires you all…

xoxo – Shauntelle

Edited to add: I’m extending the deadline to Tuesday, April 22nd. A post would be nice, but to make it easier, you can just answer what inspires you in a comment.

19 thoughts on “Inspiration Friday: Carrie and Danielle’s interview AND a GIVEAWAY!

  1. carissa says:

    how neat… cool… fun are they! my eyes are wide open with intrigue. i love this concept… can ‘t wait to peel into the book!
    be back for the giveaway post link! 🙂

  2. Tiffany says:

    I find inspiration through the blogging community, especially folks who focus on reusing objects that others have sold or given away.

  3. Courtney @ nestinginstincts says:

    The concept of this book does sound quite intriguing! Hmm, now I’m going to have to put my thinking cap on and figure out what inspires me. I’ll think about it over the weekend and come up with something fabulous (wink) early next week! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  4. Melissa @ The Inspired Room says:

    Well you certainly know what I like, thanks for directing me over here! These ladies speak my language! LOL! Love that, thanks so much for introducing me to them and their new book. Great resource and I would love to have it! 😉

    xo

  5. Design for Mankind says:

    You are so sweet, Shauntelle, and your blog is oh so lovely! 🙂 Of course I wouldn’t mind a BIT if you linked to the zine– let me know if you need additional info from me! I’d be happy to help!

    Thanks dear; have a great weekend.

    Love to you!

  6. Deborah says:

    I am inspired by the colors in my backyard, the shade of purple in the sunset, the exact shade of green in the corner of my daughter Lucy’s right eye. A push-pin, an eraser on a pencil, the gleam from the stain glass window in my front room. An eclectic restaurant menu, an old cracked window on the abandoned house next door to me. These are examples of things that inspire me to go beyond the “norm”, to try new things when I design my house. Thanks for a cool blog. Was so grateful to find it.

  7. Michele (Luvkitty) says:

    I’m inspired by the colors, textures, scents, and “feel” that I get from the beach. From the ocean to the sand, from the sunshine to the salty air, from the plants to the birds….all of it inspires me.

    I just found your blog today, and I already love it! I can’t wait to dig in deeper!

  8. Torey says:

    I love, love, love all decorating books. I have no idea what my exact style is or what exactly inspires me. So I really need to win this book. 🙂

  9. Darcy says:

    I just discovered your blog, I really love it, and I hopped over to sign up for the Friday Focus newsletter, thanks!

    Hmmmmm, what inspires me…so many things..anything handmade that someone has taken the time to create, my kids, my friends, intense color (especially red), blogs, magazines, the list goes on and on!

    I love the feeling of completing a project that I love and always try to do it thriftily (is that a word?) 🙂

  10. Melissa @ The Inspired Room says:

    Sorry about the internet connection troubles, so frustrating! I realized I didn’t answer your question about inspiration, I write about that quite a bit. I’m inspired by life! Traveling, art, music, colors, fabrics, books, nature…my kids… 🙂

  11. Megan says:

    I’m inspired by people.

    I’m inspired by people who are struggling and to whom I can offer a helping hand – giving to other people inspires me without end.

    I’m inspired by people who are reaching for their dreams and change in the world.

    I’m inspired by people (like Carrie and Danielle) who are touching people’s lives the way I want to too.

    I’m inspired by people’s faces, by conversation, by thoughts, by people’s passions and dreams… I’m always inspired by connecting with people. It’s part of who I am!

  12. Courtney @ nestinginstincts says:

    Hi Shauntelle! I had hoped to write a post about this…but then I forgot…and then life got in the way…you know how it goes. So here’s my comment instead: I like writing lists…so in list form:
    I’m inspired by the outdoors…particularly by the ocean.
    I’m inspired by my little girls’ faces.
    Music…particularly in church
    creativity…on a small scale or large…could be my daughter’s drawing, could be Cirque du Soleil
    at the moment, inspired by Megan’s post above!
    helping people find joy in their surroundings
    creating something new out of something old
    by other blogs and bloggers
    by my women’s Bible study group
    magazines
    playing the piano
    …I could go on but will end for now. Thanks for a great post!

  13. dianeinjapan says:

    No doubt about it, my family’s travels inspire me a ton. We pick up little things wherever we go, usually colorful items–clothespins from Malaysia, silk lanterns from Vietnam–and I love to see our “finds” around our home and be reminded of fun adventures.

Comments are closed.