Craigslist Monday: Back with a $50 challenge

Dum-Dum-Dah-Dum! I’m back!!! Did ya’ll miss me? I missed you guys terribly; I never realized how much blogging adds to my life until I couldn’t blog!!! But I’m back now and I have such an interesting Craigslist Monday lined up for today, I can’t wait to share it with ya’ll.

Right before I lost my internet connectivity, a representative for Kijiji, ebay’s free classified site, contacted me to ask if I ever visited. He saw the mention of Kijiji in Kim’s interview and not so subtly suggested that I consider doing a Kijiji Sunday to go along with my Craigslist Monday.

Now ya’ll know I LOVE craigslist. LOVE. Um, yeah… did I mention I LOVE craigslist? And I’m really loyal to those that I love. So I pretty much intended to blow the whole thought off because who could compete with my beloved craigslist? And wouldn’t it be cheating, sorta, to check out another free ad site?

But then I thought of ya’ll, my beloved readers! I made a promise that I’d provide info about the best budget resources I could find when I started this blog. How could I just avoid a potential bargain hunter’s dream because of my own little love affair? And Kim had totally recommended it… so, I had this bright idea. Today we will have the Atlanta Craigslist – Atlanta Kijiji showdown. I have $50 (pretend) dollars. The goal is to see which list is gonna give me the best finds for my $50 bucks.

Of course I’m gonna start off with my beloved – Atlanta Craigslist. To be honest, on my first two/three/four run-throughs, I was feeling pretty disappointed. Nothing really jumped out at me.

And then, I found this chair for $30.

You know I’m a sucker for the unusual. And anything with a quirky aesthetic. I LOVE this chair! As in, you know I went running around my townhouse trying to find a place to put it. But no – there’s no place where it would work. My loss, someone else’s lucky $30 find… http://atlanta.craigslist.org/fur/650601837.html

That leaves a big $20. Which is plenty to pick up this great retro chrome chair for $15:

Another find that I completely LOVE. Yeah, the black cushions would need to be recovered, but that’s not an expensive concept… it could be a simple as cleaning the cushions and then creating a simple slipcover for them. And do you see the great shape of the chair? So modern, so awesome for some cool, hip lounge. sigh. Another piece that won’t fit into my townhouse. http://atlanta.craigslist.org/fur/649889255.html

I wasn’t going to bother looking for something for $5, except curiousity got the better of me. And lo!, I found this cute little chair!

Can you believe it? Even $5 can help you add cute seating to your place. That’s why you always have to keep a sharp eye out! http://atlanta.craigslist.org/fur/648676215.html

So, $50 bought three great chairs on craigslist. Let’s see what $50 gets us on Atlanta Kijiji.

First things, first – I’m a little annoyed at the get-go because there’s no way to search by price. You can sort with lowest price first, but I love the way craigslist allows me to search a price range. Second, there’s all sorts of stuff mixed in under the furniture section. I’m getting baseball cards and coffee cup selections. Believe it or not, but I’m impatient. The longer it takes for me to find something interesting, the less likely I am to stick around. So far, five minutes into this experience, I haven’t hit a single link. That’s too long for someone like me. If I weren’t in to this experiment for ya’ll, I would be gone. But I’ll persist…

And I will add one thing that I do like. There a thumbnail photos of each item on the main listing. So you don’t get psyched out by a great listing title only to find the actual item looks like a piece of crap something you wouldn’t want. 🙂

But I still, I’m 4 pages in and 10 minutes along before I find anything worthwhile… this brand new (according to the ad) twin size wooden headboard and footboard.

It’s not my style, but if it’s solid wood, I think it’s a pretty good deal for $30. http://atlanta.kijiji.com/c-For-sale-Furniture-decor-BRAND-NEW-Antique-Stained-Twin-Headboard-and-Footboard-W0QQAdIdZ29140337

I’ve already passed everything that costs less than $30 without seeing anything of interest, so I figure I’d keep looking to see if there was a better option if I decided to spend the whole $50 on just one thing.

And I ran across this china cabinet for $40.

Once again, not my style, I’m definitely NOT in love with it. But I can see it has potential – a little paint, and it could be a piece of real beauty. And I have to admit that you aren’t gonna find anything that size for that price too often. http://atlanta.kijiji.com/c-For-sale-Furniture-decor-Hutch-W0QQAdIdZ40690586

So there’s our little experiment.  Three cute chairs for $50 or one china cabinet for $40.  No contest in my mind, what about ya’ll?  Sorry Kijiji, there’s just no comparison, at least in the Atlanta market.  But, it is another option to visit when all else fails.  And, to give them their due, they are in their infancy, as far as I know.  So I’ll keep you on the radar Kijiji, but you won’t get your own day on this blog anytime soon.

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow to find out the lucky giveaway winner (if you haven’t entered yet, you still have a few hours, so go do it!) and definitely meet me back here on Wednesday for another great “In the Trenches” interview, this time with fashion blogger Kasmira.

Until later,

xoxo – Shauntelle

4 thoughts on “Craigslist Monday: Back with a $50 challenge

  1. Martin Herbst says:

    I’m happy you gave Kijiji a try! Thank you for the great feedback and we will definitely consider your recommendations as the site continues to grow in the future. Keep coming back!

    Martin Herbst
    Kijiji.com General Manager

Leave a Reply

