In the Trenches with Jane of All the Luck in the World

coffee table as sculpture
coffee table as sculpture

Happy Wednesday!

As promised, I’m back today with a new “In the Trenches” interview! (And on the right day this week, aren’t you happy?!?) Today’s interview is with Jane of All the Luck In the World. Jane is a Danish artist that creates colorful whimsical items ranging from soft textiles to jewelry from recycled materials. In keeping with her artistic sensibilities, she has created a wonderfully colorful home as well, but not in the way you might expect. Read on to learn more…

As usual for me, I stumbled upon your home while browsing Flickr photos for inspiration. I am almost ashamed to confess that I know next to nothing about you (except you have lovely taste in design!). Please tell us a little about yourself…

I am a graphic designer and artist, living and working in the Netherlands. I love to recycle, so I use lots of vintage and found articles in my work. I also have a webshop selling handmade, re-styled and vintage products: http://www.alltheluckintheworld.nl

Hello Dear
Hello Dear

If you had to use only 3 words to describe your design style, what would they be? How did your style evolve to become what it is today?

Eclectic, personal, colourful. I’m not sure, I have had the same style for many years but of course there have been changes if I look back. But I’ve always loved vintage and hand made things.

Living Room
Living Room

Your home exudes color and cheerful creativity to me. Do you have any tips you could share on how you manage to mix bold colors and patterns in such a way that they create a lovely warmth in your home, rather than feeling overwhelming or chaotic?

My house is small so I try not to have too many things in one space. Except for my studio which is full of

Bedroom Corner
Bedroom Corner

things I need to have around me for inspiration or to make something out of. I hardly have any new furniture or accessories in my home. Just about everything has a history and it’s own story. Don’t be afraid to change. A new coat of paint can make a big difference.

What is your favorite spot in your home and why?

My bedroom because it’s nice and white and peaceful, yet very pretty.

What would you say has been your greatest challenge in decorating your home? Have you overcome this challenge, and if so, how did you overcome it?

I could say decorating on a tight budget, which is what I do but it comes quite naturally so it’s not really a challenge. If you keep your eyes open you can find beautiful things everywhere. That’s why I started my shop. I didn’t have enough space to keep everything!

As you may know, A Beautiful Abode was created because I wanted to share the resources and inspiration I discovered on my journey to creating a beautiful home on a tight budget. For those of my readers who are also on a tight budget, what would you say are your top tips for emulating a look similar to yours on a budget?

Visit flea markets and secondhand shops, You can find great treasures there! Buy art on ETSY. Use everything as inspiration!

Garden Paradise
Garden Paradise

Please be sure to drop by Jane’s home of the web, All the Luck in the World. Visit her on flickr to see more of her lovely home, and, most importantly, be sure to leave her some comment love here so she will know how much we appreciate her effort in answering the questions, especially since English isn’t her first language!

xoxo – Shauntelle

3 thoughts on “In the Trenches with Jane of All the Luck in the World

Leave a Reply

