Craigslist Friday: Awesome with a little elbow grease

Room & Board's Aldo Chair

Surprise!  It’s a craigslist FRIDAY post!

I was visiting Design*Sponge on my lunch break and there’s this whole section of Before and Afters that truly always inspire me.  The last few have been creatively reupholstered chairs that started off looking like something you’d find on the side of the street.  With some elbow grease and gorgeous fabric, the “after” looked like high end boutique!

As usual, it left me promising myself that somehow, some way, I AM GOING TO LEARN REUPHOLSTERING.  It also inspired me to head over to craigslist to hunt for pieces that would be awesome with just a little elbow grease.   My goal was to find items that cost $50 or less simply because if I pay over $50 for something, probably I want it to be as close to usable condition as possible!

The first piece I found was FREE!

Free metal storage cabinet (http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/zip/1434450417.html)
Free metal storage cabinet (http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/zip/1434450417.html)

According to the ad, this is something the homeowners found in their garage when they bought their home.  They don’t know what to do with it, so they’re giving it away FREE (my favorite word)!  In the picture, it’s laying on its side, and it’s hard to tell exactly how deep it might be… But I see all kinds of potential for it anyway.  I mean, if you like the shabby chic look, you could probably use it as is for some type of interesting display.  In fact, it just occurred to me that it could be a charming change of pace for a foyer piece or a mudroom piece.  If you take out that wood in the center and add coat hooks, it would be a one of a kind coat hanger; the extra drawers could store keys and mail and all the little random things that you come inside carrying.

Another thought I had was that you could take the existing paint off, prime it with a glossy bright color like apple green and then use it as an attractive TV stand.  I bet you guys could think of a bunch of other uses for it too… and the price is definitely right!  http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/zip/1434450417.html

$50 Wingback Loveseat (http://atlanta.craigslist.org/nat/fuo/1434317811.html)
$50 Wingback Loveseat (http://atlanta.craigslist.org/nat/fuo/1434317811.html)

Ok, I can just hear some of you wondering if I’ve lost my mind with this one!  I know it’s really frumpy looking… but I’m asking you to use your imagination, ok?  First I want you to look at the shape.  Wingback style, but on a loveseat, not a chair.  This is awesome!  No, REALLY, this is awesome.  You could completely rock this loveseat in a retro modern environment.  Get rid of the slipcovers and reupholster it in a great fabric, maybe something like this Amy Butler Modern Martini:


Amy Butler's Modern Martini
Amy Butler's Modern Martini

or maybe this Tunisia Chartreuse print:

Premier Prints Tunisia Chartruese
Premier Prints Tunisia Chartruese

And you end up with a funky little piece that you might find in Anthropologie or Urban Outfitters, like this Cleo Chair (but without the $1000 price tag):

Anthropologie's Cleo Chair, Polly
Anthropologie's Cleo Chair, Polly

The last thing I have to share is this set of 4 “modern” chairs for $35 (http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/fuo/1434278609.html):

Set of 4 "modern" chairs - $35 (http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/fuo/1434278609.html)
Set of 4 "modern" chairs - $35 (http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/fuo/1434278609.html)

Again, I can feel some of you shaking your head, thinking “what happened to her, she used to have such good taste!”  Once again, I’m asking you to trust me and use your imagination.  A coat of paint for the frames and recovering those grubby cushions with a great fabric and I can see you ending up with chairs that rival these $400 a piece Aldo chairs from Room and Board:

Room & Board's Aldo Chair
Room & Board's Aldo Chair

Inspiration, creativity, and elbow grease… these are the tools that budget decorators employ to their homes from blah to beautiful.  Hope this gives you a little more incentive to keep your eyes open to the possibilities that exist every where around you!

‘Til next time,

xoxoShauntelle


Leave a Reply

