DIY Inspiration

Furbish Studios' Red Cane Chair

I love the before and after of these Goodwill chairs by Eddie Ross:

Goodwill Chairs Before
Goodwill Chairs Before
Goodwill Chairs with New Paint and Upholstery
Goodwill Chairs with New Paint and Upholstery

I swear seeing transformations like that makes me wanna go and grab every cheap chair I can find. I mean seriously, do you see what a difference paint, fabric, and a good staple gun can make?!?

I stumbled across another inspiring piece on the blog i suwanee today.  This blog is owned by the owner of the retail store Furbish Studio and goodness, but she has become my new design crush! Furbish Studio has a variety of home decor items, some new, some old, and some repurposed… I completely LOVE her way of adding quirky fabrics to traditonal pieces.  Her blog provided a bunch of inspiration, but the piece that really grabbed me because of its easy DIY potential was this:

Furbish Studio's chalkboard painted dresser
Furbish Studio's chalkboard painted dresser

I’m totally going to transform the $10 craigslist dresser in the kids’ room this way!!!  I’m thinking I’ll do the dresser, their headboards and maybe their little night table too.  It will look fabulously big kid for Catie, who at 10, is just at the edge of not being a “little” kid any more… but it will be all kinds of fun for six year old Ian.  Furbish is in Raleigh, North Carolina and if you’re lucky enough to be close by…  I. AM. SO. JEALOUS!

And these are just a couple of the reasons why:

Zigzag Settee
Furbish Studios' Zigzag Settee
Furbish Studios' Map covered Dresser
Furbish Studios' Map covered Dresser

I am also jealous if you can get your spouse to agree to brightly colored accent furniture like this:

Furbish Studios' Red Cane Chair
Furbish Studios' Red Cane Chair

Mine isn’t going for it even though I LURVE it so dearly…

Happy budget decorating!

xoxoShauntelle

Leave a Reply

