The Most Essential Design Technique You Could Ever Learn…

Sometimes I run across a person or a blog that just truly grabs me and I want to share it with everyone I know.  Often it’s specifically design related, so I’ll bookmark it so that I can write a Beautiful post about it later (there’s a really LONG list of “future Beautiful posts” in my Google bookmarks!).

Today, however, the blog I found isn’t really design related but I want to share it anyway.  Plus, when I really think about it, it’s probably the most essential design technique you could ever learn*

The Beauty Behind the Message (copyright k. walrond/chookoolonks)
The Beauty Behind the Message (copyright k. walrond/chookoolonks)

This beautiful lady is Karen Walronds–author, photographer, and blogger who’s also known around the interwebs as Chookoolonks.  I ran across some photos of hers on flickr which led me to following her on twitter for the last couple of weeks.  Today, however, I finally visited her blog where I learned about her new book, The Beauty of Different: Observations of a Confident Misfit.

The Beauty of Different
I’m not going to try to summarize it for you– we all know that I can be REALLY long winded! (LOL!) but I don’t think I have the words to do the book justice.

Instead, I’ll ask you to watch the video trailer:

And then go check out Karen’s flickr group, The Beauty of Different, where (in her own words) “photographers (amateur and pro alike) are invited to publish self-portraits of themselves, and declare what their beautiful different is.”

*Okay, so I know some of you are wondering–why did Shauntelle say this was the most essential design technique we could ever learn? And maybe you’re thinking I just wrote that to get your attention and you might even be feeling a little cranky with me or trying to figure out if this is some affiliate thing (it’s NOT!)…

My personal belief is that if you really UNDERSTOOD and knew through and through just how AMAZING you ARE… you’d have an easier time decorating your home.  You wouldn’t question your choices or feel like the only way you’ll ever get a really pulled together place is if someone else does it for you…

If you knew that your quirks, the funny little things you love are exactly what makes YOU… well… YOU… and that it’s those things that make you beautiful… You’d feel comfortable displaying who you are in your environment… (and I don’t mean this specifically in terms of YOU the person reading right now… cause I know I have some fantastic, amazing readers who are truly comfortable in their skins… right?  This is a generic, for the person-who-the-shoe-fits “You”, ok?)

So yeah, I feel like I need to spread the word about Karen’s book and her work because it’s important. Because YOU are unique, different, and absolutely, stunningly beautiful as you are… and boy, what an amazing world of beautiful homes we’d all have if we all felt confident enough in ourselves and who we are to surround ourselves with the things that make our hearts sing…

So that’s my reasoning.  🙂

’til next time,

happy budget decorating!

xoxoShauntelle

2 thoughts on “The Most Essential Design Technique You Could Ever Learn…

  1. Francine says:

    Shauntelle you are so right! I’ve been a big fan of Karen for years now and she is awesome. I love your spin on this though, I never thought about how “beautiful different” could apply to home decor. I always beat myself up when I read decor and design blogs, sighing over the rooms I know I can never have. But as I reminded myself lately, I need to stay true to what I love and what works for me. Thanks for the additional reminder!

Leave a Reply

