Inspiration Friday: Project $2K Inspiration

I’ve had a couple of people ask me if I REALLY plan to decorate our whole condo for only $2,000.  I can understand the disbelief– most people spend around that much on a sofa and I plan to decorate a three bedroom flat.  The thing is, I think it’s a realistic budget as long as I’m REALLY thrifty and very thoughtful in planning.  When you’re on a tight budget, there’s no room for purchasing something on a whim only to find it won’t really work when you get it home… or at least, not much room.  I learned that lesson the hard way when I was decorating our townhouse.

So, in order to succeed at Project $2k, I’m taking the time to really develop a firm idea of what I want in each room.  The bulk of the budget will be spent on the living room and dining room/office combo, so I’ve spent the last few weeks gathering ideas for these spaces and I thought I’d share some of them with you today.

Living Room

Restoration Hardware Room via Ashley Rohe Design
Restoration Hardware Room via Ashley Rohe Design

I really love everything about this living room from the new Restoration Hardware catalog (photo via Ashley Rohe ‘s blog) but for my living room I’m drawing inspiration from the slipcovered, modern sofa and those gorgeous bookcases!  Our condo doesn’t really have much architectural interest and since it’s a rental, I can’t paint the walls or make permanent changes.  Bookcases like those would add some dramatic interest.  And the more I research it, the more I think slipcovering may be an option for our current pretty worn sofa.

Modern Living Room via BHG.com
Modern Living Room via BHG.com

I’ve used this photo before– mostly this photo represents the “feel” of the living room. I want to make sure it keeps a clean and minimal feel because my husband is a big fan of mid-century modernism and my children are pack rats.  While I can’t give my husband the really zen, sleek space he’d prefer, I can keep the design simple and clutter-free.  This, hopefully, will also make it easier to clean up after messy children!

Staggered Modern Bookcase
Staggered Modern Bookcase
Sheltered Arm Restoration Hardware Sofa
Sheltered Arm Restoration Hardware Sofa

Hammary Modern Leaning Bookcase
Hammary Modern Leaning Bookcase

Dining Room – Office Combo

Dining Room Inspiration
Dining Room Inspiration

This is another room I just love. Really adore everything about it including the bookcases (yeah, I have a thing for them obviously), the wood and metal table, the awesome chairs, and the arched pendant floor lamp. Since my husband works from home, I love that the table could be used for conferences and presentations, but also would suit a formal dinner as well.

Concrete Wall and Reclaimed Wood Sawhorse Table
Concrete Wall and Reclaimed Wood Sawhorse Table via Remodelista.com

This photo is from the company ConcreteWall. This Norwegian company manufactures wallpaper that looks like concrete–a great idea for people like me who want to live in urban lofts but must defer the dream until the children leave home.  I can’t use the wallpaper here (it’s a rental) but I do want to incorporate reclaimed and urban elements into the office-dining room design.

Reclaimed Factory Table and School Chairs
Reclaimed Factory Table and School Chairs
Up & Down Table by Forever Interiors
Up & Down Table by Forever Interiors
Ikea Sawhorse Metal Legs
Ikea Sawhorse Metal Legs

That’s it for me today folks.  Say a little prayer that we survive the weekend–three sick kids equals a LOOOOONG weekend for us parents.

’til next time, happy budget decorating!

xoxoShauntelle

2 thoughts on “Inspiration Friday: Project $2K Inspiration

    1. snhamlett says:

      Thanks so much for the sweet compliment! My twitter name is @snhamlett and you can also find A Beautiful Abode on facebook! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

