$30 Office Redesign – COMPLETED!

Final total =

And under budget too!

Final total = $25.36
Final total =

$25.36!!!

Boo-YAH!!!  And if I do say so myself, it looks pretty dang AWESOME!  Let me share pics… but first, I have to warn you that the pictures don’t do it justice.  Mostly because half of them are BEAUTIFUL pictures by my lovely husband, photographer Kenneth Hamlett, while the others are my own… ahem… not so wonderful photos.  That said, let’s begin the tour…

Remember, this is what we started with:

Messy bookcase and blank wall
Messy bookcase and blank wall
My big picture window
My big picture window
Big Blank Wall
Big Blank Wall

Blah, no life, no ME anywhere to be found.   Here is what we have now:

Entering the door
Entering the door

Notice my new accent chairs.  I have two of them, both received free from a wonderful lady on freecycle.  They were lovingly hand painted and reupholstered by MOI as inspired by the lovely Miss Mustard Seed.   The little side table used to be this chair:

Craigslist Chair
Craigslist Chair

It was the first thing I bought, probably the same day I decided to move forward, for $5 from a guy on craigslist.  As you can see, the back of the chair didn’t exactly go with my French Provincal concept.  But the bottom, painted with gold and silver creme stenciling paint, works well for a side table to hold my Remington Rand antique typewriter:

Chair turned table
Chair turned table

I already had the typewriter at home where it wasn’t really being showcased well.  Now it’s a conversation piece everyone notices as soon as they walk into my office.

The bookcase was moved to an angle in the corner (and when I moved it, I discovered that my wall is CROOKED!  so very weird).  Which made space for me to create a pretty arrangement of framed bird prints:

Framed Bird Prints
Framed Bird Prints

The bird graphics were free, courtesy of The Graphics Fairy, who has to offer THE most amazing collection of royalty free graphics available online anywhere.   The frames were another great gift from a local freecycler.  She gave me a big box full and I think I painted and used all of them except two (which will be used at home since they match our mid-century modern style there).

Center bookshelf
Center bookshelf

The bookshelf holds some of the products that I sell at work and several pretty little vignettes.  See that wine box?  It’s one of five I received free from another freecycler!  Her husband used to use them to hold baseball cards… with a little sanding and some stain, they became perfect accent pieces for my bookshelf and other areas of my office.  The small phrenology head and rose “painting” are both free prints from The Graphics Fairy.  The large floral “painting” is one I picked up to decorate our bedroom in the townhouse.  I never used it, but I loved it so much, I kept it… and it was perfect for this project.

The books were actually thrift store purchases.  I think I spent about 1/4 of  my budget on books for decoration.  Oh, and you can’t forget my little ceramic pig “bacon” that my daughter made me for mother’s day last year.  🙂

Vignettes from the top shelf:

Faux mercury glass paper star
Faux mercury glass paper star

The star is actually made from cardboard–one of our Christmas ornaments I bought around 10 years ago.  Candlestick is a find that was going to go into my etsy shop, but I decided to keep it and those are some of my favorite books from my personal collection…

Books and Paris Postcard Print
Books and Paris Postcard Print

That bottom book was my great-great-grandmother’s desk dictionary!  The Paris postcard is from The Graphics Fairy and those little glasses I found thrifting.  The small one with dots has an “S” engraved in it and the slightly larger cordial one has an “H” engraved in it (my initials Shauntelle Hamlett).  I’m just missing the “N” for my middle name!  I already had the “H” glass as an extra from a set I’ll be selling on etsy, but I found the “S” glass for .55 and then it was half off day… so I payed .22 cents for it!  🙂

On the other side of the bookcase, moving toward my desk you see:

Accent Chair #2
Accent Chair #2

Here’s a different angle:

Accent chair detail
Accent chair detail

I painted the chairs a very pale shade of blue-green and highlighted them with a gold creme stencil paint.  Hard to see in the pictures due to the florescent lighting, but so pretty in person.  The seats are covered in a red and linen colored toile.  It was probably the most expensive single purchase I made: $6 and change for a yard and a half.  So worth it though!  My beloved fir tree is sitting on top of a wicker basket I already owned that I painted gold and black.  And that is on top of one of the wine boxes I received.  Just to give it the right height and some interest to that corner.

Above the chair is one of my favorite DIY projects which you can barely see in the picture.  The guys in the office broke some of the glasses in these framed pictures we have down the hallway and as they were about to throw the glass away, I stopped them.  So they sent me home with a box of broken glass and four unbroken panes.  From one of the good pieces of glass, I created a piece that resembles an old mercury glass mirror.  I used masking tape to frame out the edges and a tea stained a print from The Graphics Fairy.  I’ll have to show you a full picture of it on another post.  It turned out amazing and is one of the office favorites.

Okay, finally, we get to my desk.  Here’s where the bad pictures start!  lol

My desk and silk covered chair
My desk and silk covered chair

See that lamp?  It was a gift from a new blogging friend, A Pearl in the Making, all the way from California!  The first day I posted about my project, she emailed me that she had THE perfect lamp for my project and then even shipped it to me at her expense!  So sweet!!  And she was right, the lamp was perfect.  The only thing I did  was add a little of the blue green color to it and painted the lamp shade black and gold (a la Eddie Ross).

My chair is another favorite project.  I found this great fabric– two yards of silk for 99 cents at my favorite thrift store– and decided to sew a slipcover for my plain grey executive office chair.  Sewing, however, isn’t my strong point, so halfway through the project, I knew I either had to get creative or start ripping seams.  I was NOT going to rip seams.

So… thumb tacks and black grosgrain ribbon to the rescue!

Ribbon to cover unattractive seams
Ribbon to cover unattractive seams
Thumb tacks for a removable upholstered look
Thumb tacks for a removable upholstered look
More thumb tacks for finishing
More thumb tacks for finishing

I was holding my breath the whole while, hoping the tacks would stay in once I sat down!  They did, and the chair looks great.

Whew, this tour is getting tiring!  Just a couple more shots… My new in box:

Stained wood wine crate
Stained wood wine crate
Top view of my new in box
Top view of my new in box

My tea stained and crumpled Old world map (a freebie I found rooting around the office storage closet):

Making my inspiration board look bigger
Making my inspiration board look bigger

And the attractive new view on the big wall across from my desk:

Recycled broken chair parts and faux antique mirrors
Recycled broken chair parts and faux antique mirrors
"Painting" from The Graphics Fairy
"Painting" from The Graphics Fairy

The faux antique mirrors were made with picture frames my mother gave me (because she IS a frilly, girly-girl), silver paint, and aluminum foil.  The “painting” is a framed print with silver paint applied to the glass.

I could NOT be more pleased with my office!  Even the guys like it… I did a “while you were out” moment and transformed the office (with my sweet hubby’s help) on a Sunday afternoon, so that it was all done when we came in on Monday morning.

It was a lot of work, but so much fun and I am very proud of myself for having rose to the challenge.  Thanks for letting me share it with you!

’til next time–happy budget decorating!

xoxoShauntelle

23 thoughts on “$30 Office Redesign – COMPLETED!

  1. Beth says:

    Very inspiring. I am already gleaning some ideas for my own little dedicated work space. Can’t wait to hear about your next project.

  2. Sharon Wren says:

    All right, you’re keeping track of all this for a book on cheapie decorating, RIGHT?????? ‘Cause I’d buy it in a heartbeat.

  3. Audra Marie says:

    I’ve been looking through my books and magazines, and I’ve been inspired to redecorate our house. I have some purging of stuff to do first, but the ideas for decorating are flowing. 🙂 My husband heads out of town in May, and I just might plan a redesign of our shared office.

  4. theLENNOXX says:

    Wow I can’t believe you managed to do this on a $30.00 budget! That’s just amazing! I love the way you styled all your little vignettes too, so inspiring!

    FYI: I think your photos look great, but I would definitely be intimidated too if I had a photographer husband!

    xo Linda

Leave a Reply

