Weekend Warrior: Transformations in Progress

We had two days of beautiful weather this past weekend in Atlanta, so I was determined to get some serious painting done.  My goal?

To transform three chairs painted Crate and Barrel chairs I received from a freecycler into personalized chairs for the children:

 

Removing yellow paint from Crate and Barrel Bentwood Chairs
Removing yellow paint from Crate and Barrel Bentwood Chairs

 

and to begin transforming my plain pine Ikea shelving unit into an industrial metal and reclaimed wood look-alike:

 

Ikea Pine Shelving Unit
Ikea Pine Shelving Unit

 

Please meet my new best friend, the $3.00 spray gun tool (or whatever you call it):

 

Plastic Spray Gun Adaptor
Thank You for Saving My Fingers!

 

I know I’m late on the game with this one, but seriously… if you have a lot of spray painting to do, this thing is amazing.  The best $3 I ever spent.  This thing helped me prime and prime and prime… and do some painting too:

 

Crate and Barrel Chairs, Sanded and Ready for Priming
Crate and Barrel Chairs, Sanded and Ready for Priming
Mama's Little Helper, Gearing Up for Priming
Mama's Little Helper, Gearing Up for Priming
Priming His Own Chair Because "I'm a Big Boy"
Priming His Own Chair Because "I'm a Big Boy"
Abandoning His Post Cause "This is taking too long!"
Abandoning His Post Cause "This is taking too long!"

 

There were several times I wanted to abandon my post too because the weather was BEAUTIFUL but I was determined to see some Project $2K progress darn it!

 

Three Chairs Primed
Three Chairs Primed

 

Chairs got primed and me and a shelf both got covered in galvanized steel paint:

 

Covered in Galvanized Steel Paint
Covered in Galvanized Steel Paint

By the time I had the shelf covered, I kinda resembled a glitter princess!

Several hours later, even after a hot shower, I still shimmered…

But progress was made and that’s all that matters, right?

’til next time, happy budget decorating!

xoxo Shauntelle

 

Leave a Reply

