Decorating with Maps

Living Room with Wall Map via Elements of Style Blog

Maybe it’s my latent desire to travel subconsciously showing, but I’ve been fascinated with using maps in decorating for the last six months or so.

I think it crossed my mind initially when I saw this great picture while looking for inspiration for decorating my office at work:

 

Framed Maps via Room Remix blog
Framed Maps via Room Remix blog

 

And I did end up using a map on the wall of my office too:

 

Making my inspiration board look bigger
Making my inspiration board look bigger

 

(That isn’t the best picture, but trust me, it’s super cute in person!)

That wasn’t enough to really fulfill my desire to decorate with maps though.  Probably cause I keep running across great pictures like these:

 

Decorative Wall Sticker via 4Interior-Design
Decorative Wall Sticker via 4Interior-Design
Living Room with Wall Map via Elements of Style Blog
Living Room with Wall Map via Elements of Style Blog
Kids Room via Remodelista.com
Kids Room via Remodelista.com

 

That’s why I was super excited when a Freecycler offered up a stack of travel maps of Southern States!  I figured this was the fates telling me my desire to wallpaper my home with maps was approved!

(Honey, no worries, if you’re reading this… I won’t really wallpaper the whole house with maps, ok?)

What I’m thinking is that I’m going to use the maps on one corner of  my youngest children’s shared room.  My youngest son is all into cars and has two framed posters that he already wants to put up (donated by his favorite teacher!  Hello Mrs. P!).  So I think the maps would be a perfect complement on his sister’s side of the room and she’ll be happy to have something “different” than her baby brother.

At least, that’s my hope.  (Why my family members can’t just agree with my decorating whims, I just don’t understand!  I mean, they act like I should consider THEIR wants in their space or something…  :P)

Anyway, I’ll be picking up the maps on the way home from work this evening.  Still  haven’t decided if I’ll go the framing route or find a temporary way to use them as “wallpaper” (in quotes because it has to be removable).

Figuring that out will be part of my Memorial weekend projects.  Hope you guys have a fabulous and enjoyable long weekend too!

’til next time, happy budget decorating!

xoxoShauntelle

One thought on “Decorating with Maps

  1. Tricia Ballad says:

    I can’t wait to see the results – DS1 is a major train geek, and he’s fascinated by the wallpaper at Subway that’s basically a map of the NY subway system. You’ve inspired me – I’m thinking I’ll swing by a train station and pick up a handful of route maps when we’re there this weekend.

Leave a Reply

